Primroses taken in April 2010.  Just off from the path leading into the Rec.  You can see the new housing estate being built.

These violets make a great display here.  Although a little blurred, I still like the picture.

My next picture is, as you might recognize, the daffodil or narcissus.

Not my best picture.   I will get some more in the spring.  Just looking up daffodil in wiki and apparently its a member of the Amaryllis family.

I’ve just found this one, floating around in my computer.

I took this one in a churchyard at Bratton Seymour, a village just outside of Wincanton.

Plenty of buttercups to be found.  All these can be found close to the Rec in the Spring.

Ah! that’s better.

A field of buttercups found just outside of Wincanton.

Isn’t that a lovely sight in May.  Regarded as a weed by many and I suppose it is really.   I have heard tell that they are poisonous to cattle;  I don’t know how true that is, but they are a part of spring and early summer and look great especially when looking at them from the depths of a cold December day.

This is, of course, is the pink campion.  Not to be confused with the ragged robin which as the name implies has a more raggedy appearance.  I haven’t got an example of the ragged robin;  I will rectify that come the spring.

The dictionary tells me that these flowers can be either pink or white.  Can’t say that I have ever seen a white one.

Here’s another picture of pink campion.

I actually got this one right, usually I manage to get the subject blurred and background sharp.

Red Clover

To be found in and around Wincanton, where not too much fertilizers etc have been used;  otherwise you end up with the white variety.

A natural meadow plant.  You can make wine out of the red flowers, but not the white flowers.

While waiting for a bus in Zeals; I know, I’m always waiting for a bus in Zeals.  Anyway whilst there, I came across this extraordinary patch of wild flowers.

I believe it was the area surrounding their war memorial.

Now isn’t that a glorious sight, that is apart from the telegraph wires.

Unfortunately, the next time I caught the bus  all this had been cut down and mown.  Neat and tidy I suppose, but it seems a shame to cut them all down.  The grass in our Church Yard at Wincanton gets mown fairly regularly, but I have often thought it might be better to let the wild flowers take over.  Its not as if we get hordes of people looking at the grave stones.

While waiting for a bus in Zeals yet again;  I have to get a bus at Zeals, it’s the only way I can get to Frome.  Anyway, I came across these.

Now what are those pink flowers.  Yes, I know they are campion, I mean those pink flowers on the left.

Here’s a better close up picture.

Does anyone know?

We now come to the wild dog rose.

The rose hips that comes from this flower also makes very good wine as I recall.

Now what’s he after.  I don’t know if he is a natural pollinator or not.  Anyone knows what that insect is? No, neither do I.

Here we see more wild roses

They look quite good against the blue sky, if not exactly in focus.

This next picture is wild garlic

These flowers have a strong smell which I quite like and so do the insects by the look of it.

Quite a colourful insect.

Oh what a bind.

Convolvulus.  Actually it looks a little big to be the wild sort known as Bind Weed.  Wiki tells me there are 200 species

This next picture shows what looks like convolvulus in field one Sunday morning last year.

I sure looks like convolvulus of some sort and it is growing in field.

Elder Flowers

I suppose you are asking is elderflower a wild flower.  Well the elder tree grows wild all over the place and they flower like wildfire, so that makes them a wild flower although I may end up putting them into the tree blog or both.

Here they are again.

You wouldn’t think those fragile looking stems could support all those florets.  Getting heavier as they gradually turn into those berries.

Now for some hawthorn blossom.

Isn’t May a lovely time for blossom.

Yes I know, not so pretty as when they are out in full flower.  Nothing last for ever and now they are changing into berries.  And before you ask, no I haven’t got any photos of the berries, but I will when they come again.