This blog is about my other home town.  This is the place I grew up in, well not quite.  In fact I was 16 when I came to live in Frome, not quite grown up but getting there.

This the the cattle market.

Not much in the way of cattle is there.  Well, it used the cattle market back in the 60s.  They have a different kind of market on Saturday mornings now.  Quite good actually, you can get all sorts of things.

Up there, where you can see that tall tree sticking up, is North Parade.

This is the Market Place.  You’ll notice that the bunting is out.  It was carnival week  and the fair was also in town.  Back in the 60s carnival week was very special with the Cheese Show being held on Wednesdays up in the Show Ground.  The whole of Frome shut down, well most of it.  Even   the schools had a holiday, while everybody went to see the show.  Then on the Saturday the children’s carnival in the afternoon then the main event in the evening followed by a visit to the fair.

Behind me is this extraordinary round building.

The museum is in there somewhere;  never been in there I’m afraid, but that is probably the sorry tale of a lot of museums, including our own museum in Wincanton.

I carry on up the hill which is known as North Parade.  The road branching to the left leads into the area where the cattle market used to be.

Up there is probably the most beautiful part of Frome, the trees.

In this next picture I have turned round at taken a picture of the Market Place.

What a conglomeration of buildings.  I remember up on that skyline, back in the 1960s, you could see the Technical Institute.  I believe it is now a block of flats.  I must go up there and see whats up there now.

This next picture shows being close to the top of  North Parade.

The road that the cars are coming from,  leads to Welshmill.  Back in 1960 or was it 1959, I stayed with my gran who was living with the Lee family at the time.  I think the place was called Holmlea, they had a tennis court at the back of the garden.  That is where I first learnt to play tennis, not very well I hasten to add.  I think Mr Lee was an Accountant somewhere in Frome at that time and they had grown up daughters one of whom played at Wimbledon.

I’ve turned round again, standing opposite Welshmill Lane or is it Welshmill Road.  A lot a trees sprouting up between the buildings.  St Mary’s of E Church;  I don’t remember there being a Church down at Welshmill.  I do remember going down Welshmill somewhere on Sunday evenings where we used to sing hymns, but I don’t think it was a church.

Now we come to the trees at the top of North Parade.

It was a lovely Saturday morning towards the end of October and the leaves were just turning.

I used to sit under these trees to eat my sandwiches when I was working at ARC at Stoneleigh House.

Oh those fallen leaves.

I’m glad I don’t have to rake those up.  Autumn is a lovely time;  walking along kicking up all those dead leaves.

Under the boughs.

Have you ever noticed how at the beginning of October that lorry comes round sweeping up the few leaves that have fallen, then when the leaves have finally fallen you never see it again.

Just opposite over the road is the Farleigh Further Education College.

Lovely setting isn’t it.  I can remember back in the 60s when it was was Municipal Offices housing the Frome Urban District Council and the people of Frome went in there to pay their rates.

It was also the place where I went for my work experience when I was at the Technical Institute, under the watchful and helpful guidance of Sylvia Yerbury.  But I finally ended up working at the Frome Rural District Council at the Public Offices.

Up here the road carries on round the corner to Fromefield and is the main road to Bath.  It also branches to right just here along Berkley Road and up to Clink.   When I was at the Public Offices, the lady I used to work with Jose Culverhouse, lived somewhere along Berkley Road.  I think Mr Bartlett (WHB), the deputy Clerk of the Rural District Council, lived in the area as did Mr Hughes (JCH) Clerk of the Council.    He had a lovely golden retriever, which he used to bring to work every day and slept under his desk while giving me dictation.