This blog is going to be about leaves and trees and will probably take me a long time to complete  and may change direction over the coming months.

Welcome to the trees.

I suppose you want me name all those trees you see in front of you.  Well, I can’t so I won’t.  I shall learn as I go along.

This one shows a family of trees.

Yes it does, two big ones and a little one in the middle, well comparatively little.

Now we come to a thorny subject, whether to put blackthorn blossom in this blog or to wild flowers.  I suppose I could do both.

Easy to recognize as the blossom comes out before the leaves.  Whereas hawthorn blossom doesn’t and comes out later in May

Here we see not a brilliant picture of a sloe bush or blackthorn;  just a trifle blurred.

You can see the green berries.  When ripe they make very good sloe gin.  I wonder what is like in whisky?

The next one was taken one lovely day in May.

The different shades of yellow and green against a background of blue.

Here it is again this time with a bit more shade.

Not so much yellow in this one, but more blue.

This is a picture of looking up at two different types of Horse Chestnut trees.

White chestnut and red chestnut.  While the white flowers produce conkers I am not sure whether the red variety do.

So lets stick to the white variety.

Spruce and chestnut together.  Here the leaves look young and healthy.

But here they don’t.

It was taken in late June and well into early summer, but as you can see some of the leaves look diseased.  I don’t know what it is;  it may well be insect attack, probably the leaf miner.  According to Wiki they do not harm the tree at all.   The other leaves do not appear to be so bad as that one down on the bottom right.

These next two pictures of tree trunks belonging to the Oak Tree.

A massive tree isn’t it.

But what causes the trunk to go into ridges like that.  Look it even has a baby oak tree growing out of it.

Ash Trees.

Not the most beautiful tree in the world, but they deserve a mention.  The buds are quite large and black.  The seeds have this twirling motion as they fall to the ground.

Trees and leaves can look lovely against a blue sky.

If plants can appreciate beauty, I think that they were acknowledging the loveliness of that June sky.

Here is another example of trees against a blue sky also taken in June.

Even though it is blurred, I like the dark green and lighter green against a strong blue sky.

Added a few fair weather clouds this time.

I am including leaves and anything thats on them, including insects.

I suppose I should do a separate blog on insects.  Well, I’ll think about it.

Here is another insect.

Don’t know what the plant is, but the insect looks interesting.

This next one is about the Hawthorn tree.

Nice picture, I found this spot just on the other side of Wincanton last year.  But no, the reason I have included this in the tree blog is because of those few hawthorn leaves in front of us  My Grandmother used to call them “bread and cheese”.   Well let’s see if they taste like bread and cheese;  no they don’t, not much taste actually although they are edible.

Talking of water, the next two were taken while walking alongside the river Cale.

See the reflection of the blue sky and leaves on the water.

I’ve yet to see much in the way of wild life in the river, but I will look a little harder in the coming months.  Apparently  slurry got into the river a few years ago and killed off a lot of the fish.

This next one shows ivy climbing around the tree.  Although not a tree, it certainly belongs to the tree world.

Isn’t it amazing climbing all the way up there.

Here’s another one.

It really looks at though the poor tree is chocked with this ivy.

This next one was taken in early spring before the leaves had started to come out.

No, I do not know what the trees is.

This next one has few more leaves on it

Taken in May.  On the right hand side half way down on one of the branches you can see what looks like a blackbird.