Hello,

In the last year, as well as retiring, I have joined the Wincanton Camera Club and one of the many competitions we had to do was one called “Where Is It”.   Actually it was more of a quiz  whereby we had to present 4 or 5 photos of  anything within a 10 mile radius of Wincanton and the other members had to guess where it was taken and so I went  Castle Cary, Bruton, Gillingham and Mere and took photographs of the Churches.

Here is the first one of Castle Cary and how it was made up.

SONY DSC

Castle Cary is  about 5 or 6 miles west of Wincanton.  The  Parish Church is known as All Saints.     As you can see, it has a tower and a spire on the top, so I took two or three pictures.

Cannot  make out what is up there on top of the spire.

SONY DSC

Here’s the second one.    Now I can see what is up there,  looks like a weather vane up there at the top

SONY DSC

Ah, it is a cockerel.   This next one, I liked the best and used in the final photograph.

SONY DSC

But decided to turn it into black and white and make it darker.

I came back down to earth……..

SONY DSC

…..and walked round the outside.

SONY DSC

But I didn’t have time to go in, as I had other places to visit for this competition.   It was probably locked anyway.    So I decided to walk on down the road towards the Horsepond.     When I got there I turned round to have a look back at the church.

SONY DSC

That spire looks quite impressive against the sky.

There used to be swans in the horsepond many years ago.

SONY DSC

I remember when I used to travel on Wakes bus from Shepton Mallet to Yeovil, I used to see these two swans on the water.  The Horsepond is not very big and found it amazing that they could actually live on this water.  I believe they were attacked and so they disappeared……….

SONY DSC

…..and this monument was built.    I think I prefer the real thing.   Also in the Horsepond is the War Memorial.

SONY DSC

I used that and the swan in the final photograph.

The top of the memorial is quite impressive.

SONY DSC

Maybe I should have used that instead of memorial part below.

I think most people guessed where it was.  The final photograph is made up from 3 photos.

Well, I had better get on to Bruton and have a look at the church there.