Sometime ago I mentioned having joined the Wincanton Camera Club and one of the competitions that came up was the Forest and Woodlands Competition that was held in April this year.  Well it got to March and I realised after looking through all my photographs that I did not have any of forests or woodlands, although I did have plenty of trees.   So on the Saturday of Easter weekend I walked to a wood quite near Wincanton called Park Wood.

It was probably not the best time of year to be photographing in a wood after one of the coldest springs on record.   This Saturday was no exception, although the sun was out at least on the way over there and it came out when I got back to Wincanton, but not much sun to speak of while I was in the wood.  Any way here is the result.

SONY DSC

It had by the time I got there turned rather cloudy and I wasn’t to hopeful of getting any good photographs.

This next one turned out rather better, I think.

SONY DSC

Looks just like they are touching hands.  You can just imagine Treebeard and the Ents having a pow wow. On a more serious note all that green up there is ivy chocking up these trees.

SONY DSC

In this one they are reaching up to the sky wondering when the warm sunshine is going to come.

SONY DSC

It had begun to grow darker.

SONY DSC

All that is left of once a mighty tree.

Gone a bit rotten here.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

I wonder what made those holes.

SONY DSC

This next one is showing a good crop of moss.

SONY DSC

Looks like a snake making its way across the woodland floor.

It had by now turned really grey, not good photographing conditions at all which is why I turned this next one into a monochrome with a touch of red.

SONY DSC

But just as I thought it was going to rain I saw some blue sky and it turned a little brighter.

SONY DSC

Not quite enough to patch a pair of sailors trousers as my old granny used to say, but enough to cheer things up a bit.  So I wandered further down into the wood and  discovered that some planting had been going on.

SONY DSC

Always nice to see new trees growing especially desiduous trees;  Beech I think.

But now its time to wend my way up this path and head for home.

SONY DSC

In case you are wondering how I did in the competition, not very well.   Next year I will be better prepared.

I will go back there during the summer to see what it looks like when the trees have got all their leaves on. I’ve been doing a lot a photographing of trees lately, especially the Ash while we still have them. But more of that later.

Bye for now!