Hi, glad you can join me. It is time to show you more of where I live in week 3 of the weekly challenge of My Hometown. As you will recall from last week my home town is Wincanton in Somerset. I am at the moment standing in the church yard; behind me is the Church and behind that is the path that I showed you last week leading down to the Recreation Ground. But ahead of me is the main Street leading from West to East through Wincanton.
SONY DSC
It is called Church Street and leads up to the Market Place and the High Street. So lets get on out there.
SONY DSC
We’ll cross over here and walk up the other side.
SONY DSC
Looks a long way up there doesn’t it. Actually it is not all that far.
We are now approaching the Market Place; isn’t this exciting!SONY DSC
Now that is a most odd thing, the sign post up there says the Race Course is back the way we came up, whereas it should be pointing up to a road that branches immediately to my left, which you can’t see, that takes us north out of Wincanton past the race course. The road up there branching to my right……
SONY DSC
…….takes us out of Wincanton to the south to Sherborne and Yeovil. But we’ll continue up and join the High Street.
SONY DSC
But before we go any further up, let’s take a look back down where we have come up.
SONY DSC
You can see where we came up to the right of the picture. There’s the Town Hall with the clock and to the left is the road leading to Sherborne and Yeovil. Right we’ll carry on up the road. Actually there isn’t a lot left to see up here; but there are one or two shops.
SONY DSC
There is the aptly named Divine Wines and across the road there is………
SONY DSC
…….Uncle Toms Cabin. It has now been turned into a Museum for Cider; been tempted to go in there, but perhaps not. A little further down we passed……
SONY DSC
……Disc World. It appears to have gotten dark all of a sudden; I don’t think there is much left to see anyway.
I’ll see you next week. Bye!