Hi there, these photos were taken yesterday afternoon 7 Oct.

This week I thought we would take a walk in the countryside on the north side of Wincanton to see how the leaves are doing. The north side provides us with some lovely trees and spectacular views. Just out of the town there is this lovely avenue of trees.
SONY DSC
Looks as though there is some beech nuts left, or…..
SONY DSC
…..no, just the shells left. Some of the leaves are starting to turn.
SONY DSC
Looks like most of the leaves are still on the trees. Let’s go on a bit further.
SONY DSC
It’s getting a big dark in here. Let’s get to that hedge in the distance over there.
I see the hawthorn bushes still got its leaves on and…..
SONY DSC
…..plenty of red berries.
Not much sign of the hazel leaves turning yet and look…..
SONY DSC
…..you can just see little tiny catkins. I wonder if they stay there all winter. I’ll just have a look at the ash trees.
SONY DSC
Some of the leaves have come off and those seeds looks as if they will soon be ready to twirl to the ground. I have noticed other ash trees where the seeds are still green. The sycamore leaf seems to develop those black spots…..
SONY DSC
…..then shrivel up and die.
There’s a blackthorn over here.
SONY DSC
Leaves are starting to turn and look at those juicy sloes. Lovely for making sloe gin for Christmas.
There is one bush or tree that is providing colour at the moment and that is the elder.
SONY DSC
Okay so I exaggerated the colour a little, just a little.
Well, I don’t think I am going to get much more today, but I will come back this way next week, for week 3.

Bye for now!